Ocean Wave

How long does it take for ocean waves
to reach their journey’s end?
I am an ocean wave that is tossed by the strong wind,
the currents beneath me push me on towards the shore.

I am pulled and stretched over the
dark waters that lay underneath,
I do not know what monsters are waiting under me,
what bloodthirsty creatures I harbor in my trough.

I am disoriented by the frantic movements my body is
forced to do, I have no stability,
I cannot control my great strength
which at the same time is my greatest weakness.

I am hurled across a magnificent ocean looking for a
shore to die on; waiting for that moment when my crest
comes high and crashes towards my doom
with the pristine white sands of a small island.

I am waiting and I long for that moment
when my waters come undone by the ecstasy
of touching something other than the
other blue waves that surround me.

How long will it take me to reach my journey’s end?
I lay in a dream like trance as the night makes the ocean calmer
and stare up at the stars that light the same shore
I am destined for; only they know when it will end.

Leave a Reply

