If Only

If only it was like before
Simple, easy, natural
It was like breathing
Something that came by instinct.

If only it was like once ago
So much happiness and love
Our thoughts could be shared without penalty
Our minds were always the same.

A fog has fallen over our love,
It swallowed it made it suffer
Nothing comes naturally anymore
All is forced, faked.

A world of torment has surrounded us
Violence and discordance have dressed us
You thrive in hurting my feelings
I succeed in being constinoisly hurt

If only it was like before
When my heart was handled with care
My tears were seen when they fell
My feelings and thoughts were well pampered.

If only my soul could be taken back
To fix what has become broken now
To change back what it was that we were
To return the love that was once shared.

The broken pieces of my heart try to come back together
But keep breaking everyday more.
If only it was like before
Simple, natural, perfect.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Phoenix Risen says:

    Very nice but so sad, I really like this line
    “The broken pieces of my heart try to come back together
    But keep breaking everyday more.”

    Like

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thank you Pheonix, I wrote this when I was really heart broken and that is what I felt.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Phoenix Risen says:

        I’m sorry you went through that! Heart ache has always been a catalyst for great poetry, but it’s a tough way to get there

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Jenn Rose says:

        It’s true, the sad pieces are the best

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

