Come Solitude

Come solitude sit by my side
I don’t want to be alone any more.
Be my guest take a seat
let’s look at the stars and listen to some music.

Come solitude and be my crying shoulder
for I have no one else to cry on.
The rain has the earth to fall on
but if I fall there is none to catch me.

Come solitude, join me
my tears have committed suicide in vain,
there are martyrs for a cause who survive past generations
but this victim of life is to be forgotten soon.

Come solitude, would you like some dinner?
At this table we eat bitter melancholy and sorrow
the woe has rusted my spoons and forks
my table-cloth is stained with gloom and the light went out long ago.

Come solitude, be my friend
Can I entrust you with my heart?
Warm hands have not held it in a century
and the dust has made it look opaque.

Come solitude, I beg
sit with me on this rotten bench
let’s listen to the sounds of this night falling in my life.
Come solitude, be my friend.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. great write. I’ve sat on that bench, had dinners too with that shadowless fool.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Don’t we all? Lol

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Such an emotional piece Jenn. I’ve felt this before. So well written my lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thanks Matt! Seen what we were talking about before. The sad ones are the best. (Actually I think I may write a poem about that) 😜

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully written… Please checkout my blog.

    Like

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      I have visited your blog, beautiful words. Keep at it. Thank you for always encouraging me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes there is something in your blog which makes me revisiting … Keep that up

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Jenn Rose says:

        Thank you so much!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so me! I love it because it resonates and is a brilliant write! My take is that in solitude we befriend our selves, we see our souls, we come to terms with who we really are without regret. Peace, Jenn, and blessings!

    Like

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      It is also a little ironic because “Solitude” cannot really be a companion, it is the lonely asking to be even more lonely because no one else is there. Thank you Kunal! Peace and blessings to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe I wasn’t clear enough – what I meant to make distinction about was that solitude is something one can embrace, but loneliness is something quite depressing.

        Like

      2. Jenn Rose says:

        Yes Kunal! I understood, lol 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

