A Memory for Sale

I want to sell my memory of you;
free my mind of the cage you built around me,
liberate my heart from your last words
continuously circulating, contaminating my bloodstream.

The ghost of your touch has left me
with a naked soul, my spirit exposed,
because your caresses used to burn my skin
dissipating it slowly, unraveling my emotions.

As I closed my eyes I still remember
how you opened my mind like the petals on a flower,
unwinding all of my fears and dissolving them with kisses
that until now remain marked on my neck.

I have your memory for sale,
the lowest bidder may take it
because I can no longer sleep with your
lingering smell occupying that side of the bed.

I may try to throw it into the sea,
what remains of you in my self,
I may commence to dispose of it all together;
fling it into the brisk night air, be done with it.

But what will become of me?
Your last actions are my anchor
my body is held together by the last tendrils of your being
that are still captured in my cells, you are part of me.

I sold your memory today,
a penny was paid for the whole of my thoughts of you.
Now, freedom I do not have, instead,
my heart was sold too, I am left lifeless without you.

5 Comments Add yours

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thank you Kunal!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is absolutely beautiful Jenn. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thank you Jennifer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

