Better Than Today

As I sit here
on this March night,
the darkness
surrounding me,
the sounds of the night
singing to me
and the lights
in the far off mountains
winking at me
from the distance,
I sit and breathe it in;
the ebullient felicity
that is building up
inside of me.
This sweet feeling of joy
and life that in me
is starting to flow,
to carve its way
into my soul like a great
hot lava river
bringing new life
as it destroys
the corrupted earth,
my corrupted heart.
And the night
makes a promise
and the lazy clouds
in the sky are witnesses
that tomorrow is going
to be a better day
than today.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. You truly are a great poetess. Bravo!

    Like

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thank you, you always have such sweet words for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I merely speak the truth Jen. I’m a fan!

        Like

      2. Jenn Rose says:

        Thanks for reblogging me, you are the first!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’re welcome. You really need some more exposure Jen. I honestly love your work. I find it very soothing.

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on This Mortal Flesh and commented:
    Please show some love to Jen. Her poetry is simply stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

