The Virgin Island of Coral Sands

I am a virgin island of coral sands.
I watch at night as the candles in the sky turn on and off,
and at day the clouds that waltz romantically and slow,
as the waves suckle at my shores.

I long to have ships dock at my coast
and send their passengers towards my soft land.
To be lived on and loved by that of people
and to be their home, to be entirely theirs.

I want to be the bosom of beautiful inspirations,
the subject of poetic allusions
that will describe me as an enchantment;
to be the fountain of fertile literary works.

Without anybody to stop into my humble offerings,
my coral sands will be a waste to the world,
without one to love my landscapes
I will be but an island of shipwrecks and castaways.

I am a virgin island of coral sands,
subjected to violent attacks from furious storms,
full of prejudice, selfishness, and hate
that torment all of my coasts at once.

My diminutive dimensions make me seem unimportant,
I float vaguely on the desert of ocean I live in,
small animals feed on my skirts and my canopies
but they do not bring me the joy that I wish for.

My hills and mountains cry for affection,
and my sweet waters plunge on imaginary illusions
and make love to the rocks in their rivers and falls
making fish giggle as they move lovingly down their path.

I am a virgin island of coral sands.
I watch at night the candles in the sky
turn on and off and wish on them that I were loved,
as the waves suckle at my shores.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is beautiful and YOU are enchanting! Very well written! Bravo!

    Like

    1. Jenn Rose says:

      Thank you! Thanks for always giving me you kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

