Never Been Loved

I want to be loved and to love.
I want what I have never gotten.
I want to feel something other than pain.
I want to fill my heart with something real.

Can’t someone love me just by looking into my eyes?
Can’t someone love me just by touching my hand?
Can’t someone love me just by hues ring my voice?
Can’t someone love me just by breathe my scent?

I have loved a person at meeting them
but my love has merely passed by as
a small butterfly pecking at a flower
outside a window in the morning.

I have loved at the touch of a person on my hand
but my love was lost in the sea of wonder
and was never returned to me
never did I see that love again.

I have loved full heartedly and only a little bit
but I have been a greeting said to a plant,
no response was given to my love,
so I don’t know what it is to be loved.

I imagine at night what it would be like;
in my dreams I have been loved and cherished
but in the morning my heart continues alone
only a faint mesmerizing memory stayed behind.

I want to be loved and desired.
That my eyes would be the light someone depended on,
that my hands would bring life to a person’s heart,
that my voice would paint lives with colors.

I am consumed everyday a little more;
love pours out of me but it is not replenished.
I want to be loved and to love, if not
I will disappear into the mist of the unwanted rain.

Leave a Reply

