Dear Self

Today I saw your smile in a crowd of strangers,
I almost didn’t recognize it, almost ignored it,
as I walked between the bodies that scattered by,
but it was your smile I had found there in the street.

Today I found your smile in a crowd of strangers
it’s glow had diminished to a mere reflection
of what used to be brighter than the sun,
now something shadows its light.

But flowers used to sigh when you smiled
dear self, the birds themselves started chirping.
And the kindness that expelled from your eyes
was the warmth of a summer evening.

Now your eyes stay as cold as winter mornings
and crisp tears form at the corners of them,
your smile is forced, dear self, it is not genuine,
it is weak, unconvincing; it holds pain.

Dear self, am I the only one that has noticed
the way your hurt is seeping through your skin?
Dear self, is there no one that can see
that you heart is aching from deep within you?

Oh dear self for you I cry tonight,
for the loss of the one that we once loved,
the person we were before, dear self,
the piece of us that has died.

Today I saw your smile in a crowd of strangers,
your eyes only stayed on me for a brief breath,
the light that once shown from you is now darkened,
and dear self, it is I who have died with it.

Leave a Reply

